About us / Contact

The Classical Music Network


Europe : Paris, Londn, Zurich, Geneva, Strasbourg, Bruxelles, Gent
America : New York, San Francisco, Montreal                       WORLD

Your email :



The Zubin Mehta's Powers

Grand Palace Hall
09/11/2005 -  
Mozart : Symphony no. 41 in C major KV 551 "Jupiter"
Mahler : Symphony no. 6 in A minor "Tragic"

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Zubin Mehta (conductor)

A constant friend of Romania and of Enescu Festivals, Zubin Mehta was present in Bucharest this September, conducting the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in two concerts with Mozart-Mahler and Enescu-Bruckner programs, respectively.

For Mozart’s „Jupiter” Symphony, Mehta approaches the score with an elegant dignity, rich in transparency (second and third movements, Andante cantabile and Minuetto are representative). The orchestra is perfectly balanced, as confirmed by the monumental mahlerian opus following Mozart's excellent interpretation. It was the occasion for the maestro to demonstrate, once more if there was a need for it, that he is one of the greatest architects of intersecting sound layers. Their correlation, attentively designing major substance steps, succeeded with maximum eloquence. Individual instruments’ sections exhibit the melodic themes with remarkable homogeneity and with extreme clarity page by page. This style which configurates the score lecture is one of Mehta's solid qualities, exemplary underlined by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, focused, following directions, all in all in good shape. Demonstrating his explosive temperament, the conductor breaks the ethereal space in a resolute and severe manner (the march tempo of the first part, Allegro energico ma non troppo), builds with great enthusiasm (Scherzo), proving that he feels comfortable in the middle of a large ensemble (the formula with 16 first violins was preferred). There are no energy savings to be made, Mehta conducts dynamically, deeply involved (in everything and especially in the fourth part, Finale. And let's not forget the large strings outburst from the second movement, Andante moderato). The interpretation of Symphony no. 6 presented Gustav Mahler's "Tragic ” universe, severely polished, no sugar coating.

Costin Popa



Copyright ©ConcertoNet.com